6/7 - 10pm

another beautiful Arizona summer day...it was 90ish, dry, no clouds.

shows that we got one end and one side done, and the other end almost done.

Computers have been bugging me again, as usual. My new one is working ok, mostly, the floppy drive just had a loose cable, and I disconnected the old CD drive, since I don't really need it. Maybe I'll put in a 5.25" floppy drive, they come in handy now and again...although I'll probably have to boot up DOS on a 3.5" floppy to use the 5.25" drive, since win2k is not to DOS friendly.

I ought to see if I can run my dos 3.30/win 1.01 floppy on this thing. it should be rather zippy, since the first version of windows was designed to run on the 4 mhz 8088 as used in the IBM XT computer. Mid 1980s stuff. Windoze is 20 years old this coming November! woohoo!

I'm trying to get a different old computer working for little Gary, a p2 400 mhz HP that is having trouble finding the network card...so I'm installing win2k on it instead of 98, maybe that'll fix it?

nitey night.

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com