oct5 wed - 930p again

big day...I cleaned the shower. whoopie.

I also went to tucson and got some glasses frames...old ones, similar style to what one of my grandpas wore for the 25 yrs I knew him, and probably 10 or 20 years before that. Black plastic cross the top, with a gold bridge, and black plastic temples, the plastic has faint streaks of gray in it. and gold wire frames below the plastic. They're old US made frames, and I took them to the local optical place to have the lenses made (I got a test last week when I took in one of the kids for his test). I'm getting bifocals, on my first pair of glasses. and only in my early 40s.

the glasses look really neat, when I was in tucson I stopped by my twin brother's work, never been there before,he's onlyhad the job for a few years, at the UofA. Of course we freaked out the few people we saw, being twins. neat stuff he's working on,the basement where he works has that same smell that mydad's office buildings always did--the smell of electronics and telescope optics and equipment, hard to describe, but unmistakable. I liked it!

it'll be a week maybe till the lenses are done....

I've been rereading a bunch of old Hot Rod mags from the early to mid 50s, crew cuts and those style glasses are quite in evidence.

I also stopped by the junkyard where I worked when i was in college, same guy's still there, but he says he got a big offer to sell the land for big bucks, apparently it's prime location for a titty bar (as he called it) being about half a mile from any homes, and right off the freeway. He said the junkyard business isn't what it used to be...too much competition to buy wrecked cars, and since there haven't been any interesting new cars made, oh, since the early 70s....and he got rid of his toys, he used to have some neat cars when I worked there, an early T bird, an early Vette, 56 Chevy, etc.

my new glasses will look so bitchin!

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com