1/30 - 10 pm

yesterday morning my brother called, askign if I'd seen any 16mm sound movie projectors at thrift stores. I hadn't. But then I went to the swap meet, and whaddayaknow, there was an ex-local school district 16mm sound projector and screen, for $25. I talked the guy down to $21 and also got him to throw in an old IBM laser printer. Which works fine! So I took steve and gary to tucson today, and delivered the projector and screen, and brother paid me $25 for it.

we watched a few old home movies from the 60s and 70s. One was a b/w that us kids shot with a bunch of animation--like scrabble letters, chalk board drawings, the dog, kids moving around without taking steps, etc. It's a hoot! there's also some footage of me doing my first engine overhaul, so it must have been when I was 14 yrs old.

And brother had a bunch of 70s TV commercial movies, each about half a minute, that he got on ebay. THe projector works great, although it took a while for the sound to straighten itself out--maybe there was some dust on the optical pickup or something? If you want to see something wierd, search ebay for 16mm movies. folks pay $$$ for other peoples' old home movies!

The rest of my ebay auctions ended, about $150 more or so total take...and it's paypal money, so I'll spend it on ebay buying crap. I already bought a couple wheels for the 55 chevy, and I'm bidding on two more (different sizes front and rear). The wheels I want go for about $150 to $200 a pair, used. New they're about $150 each.

steve apparently isn't impressing his math teacher this year, because they didn't pick him for the state math contest that's given at school this coming week. But it turns out that there's a field trip for GATE the same day, and some of the people who did get picked for the test won't be there, and his freshman math teacher asked him if he wanted to take it, so he said "yes' and now he's signed up. He got 1st or 2nd highest score in his grade on it at his school last year, I think. he's pretty bright, but lazy. like me, I guess!

while I was at brother's house I plugged my laptop into his lan, and set it up (had to assign an IP address and DNS server), and I downloaded some stuff, which goes a tad faster on a T1 line than it does here at 26kbps! I DLd Firefox and Thunderbird (to replace Mozilla), and Open Office. Coundlt thinkg of anything else at the time, unfortunately.

it's getting really darn cold, I need to get the fire going!

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com