2/16 - 840pm

The scope clock is running on the kitchen table with a "new" tube in it, this one's a 5UP7. The phosphor glows blue, then persists yellow. Quite nifty looking!

The tube came from a Heathkit IMPScope that Steve got from his friend, who got it from his Physics teacher, who was cleaining out a store room and found it with no school property tag. I opened it up and found that it is from about 40 years ago, and has several vacuum tubes in it besides the CRT. I put in a 2 amp fuse, plugged it in, turned it on, and after about half a minute of warming up the fuse popped and there was a nice burning electronics smell. I guess it's toast....at least it was free toast. But the CRT sure looks nice as a clock.

I visited folks today. I found about a dozen pics on my computer of friend who died, so I burned them to a CD and took them to wally world to get prints made. I then took them to their house, to add to the collection. We talked some about what to do with all his stuff--he had several cars, a couple boats, an office with a bunch of construction equipment, etc. I may end up helping to sell some of it for them. And I started up his Vette, which has been kind of neglected in his garage since he got a Harley over a year ago. But the car started up on the second try....years ago I put a later model fuel injected engine in it, then he got it painted, got the upholstery fixed, a new convertible top, we went thru the driveline, etc. So the car is pretty nice now.

We got some parts in the brown box truck today for Gary's engine, so we fiddled in the garage a bit with them. But the engine paint was shipped separately and will take a bit longer to get here, so we can't really put it all together yet...bummer.

He also started working on his science fair project, and invention having to do with wet erase board markers. He made a gizmo from galvanized sheet metal, almost completely without my help. He got to use the tin snips, cordless drill, and the rivet gun, all on his own, for the first time mostly, and managed to make what he wanted in only an hour or two. Not bad...reminds me of when I was a kid!

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com