2/28 - 10ish

I noticed about 10 minutes too late that I forget about the club meeting...oh well, they'll manage without me.

I went to C's shop today, to see how the 31 Chevy is coming along. He'd painted the firewall and dash since the day before, and was getting ready to get the steering column bolted in so he could set in the engine. I helped with those chores, and the engine sits in there pretty well--he made the mount setup with the body off the frame, and everything fits just like it should. The firewall is a reddish maroon, the engine is mustard yellow, and the frame and suspension is gloss black. Looks really nice, even though it sound wierd.

The overdrive tranny I sold him is causing grief, he made a shifter to fit it and managed to poke a couple holes in the overdrive housing while doing that. So he pulled it all apart, then I noticed that one of the bearings is bad, so I offered to bring all the guts home and clean them up and make sure it would all work. His shop isn't set up for doing mechanical work...it's a body/paint shop after all!

So then when I was taking the tranny the rest of the way apart a wierd snap ring broke! where am I gonna find a replacement? the damn thing is 50 years old.

If I could believe in god, I'd think he were quite the merry prankster today.

A guy that's working for C is from Mexico apparently, he brought in a carb setup from the old days of rodding...it is an aluminum casting with the opening on the bottom to fit a 6-71 blower, and on the top it has 8 (eight) Stromberg 97 carburetors! It's a wicked looking setup, and it would look killer on my 55, which just happens to have a 6-71 blower on it. Problem is the kits to overhaul the carbs cost $30 apiece! and if I can buy the thing it would probably cost several hunnerd bucks on top of that. But it sure would look bitchin in Vegas!

C and some of his friends, and another guy are planning to go to Viva Las Vegas. I said if they got the 31 done and drove it up, that I'd drive my car along too. I talked to T in vegas today, he said he'd let me (and one kid) crash at his house...and they might go out on the lake too, which would be fun. A bit early to go water skiing, but it should be warm enough to be comfy out of the water.

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com