3/2 - 2pm

It's afternoon, one kid stayed home sick....little Gary (who is only a couple inches shorter than me, I just noticed today) has the makings of a cold, and I figured they didn't need him spreading it around.

We went into town in the black 57 Chevy I'm supposed to be working on, but haven't really touched since I got it, and L died the next night.

I've been having a fun discussion with a nice Mormon gal on a forum somewhere...she's done a good job of convincing me that she really can ignore facts, when it comes to her religion.

But what do I know, I'm just an atheist!

I'd like to believe in the metaphysical, but there just isn't any reason to. There is so much that we don't understand about how our minds work, that it seems silly to attribute what are most likely natural occurances to some mystic supernatural thing that is beyond explanation. But that's just me, I guess I don't love mystery like most folks do.

I got a call from my dad today, he said he's been in the hospital so they could get his medication straightened out. He's had Parkinson's for years, and I guess as time goes on they have to play a delicate balancing game with the different available meds.

A few years ago he invented a srange type of walker to help him stay mobile. It offers just a little bit of support, but it seems that Parkinson's sufferers really just need something to hold on to to let their brains control their bodies--it is really hard for us "normal" folks to understand, but it really works. I made a few of these things that we call Fido (as in a pet dog) and he took the one he has up there in Madison over to the hospital with him. Apparently everyone who saw or tried it liked it. So we talked about different ways we could get the design out into the world. Going the public domain route is quite appealing, as it could limit our liability, and help folks. But it wouldn't make us much money...which may be a blessing in disguise, as it also wouldn't cost us much money! Getting geared up to make and market something with an unknown saleability is very risky.

So we'll see what happens.

Here's a bad pic of C's chevy, hard to see the color of the firewall but it looks really neat.


I guess it's time to go...have funsies!

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com