april 8th - 11 am

only one more week for taxes! we did the federal tax (and spent the huge refund) already...but state taxes still await. fun.

went to the big city yesterday, met with my dad and older brother. Dad has had Parkinson's symptoms for 20 years, and been on medication for most of that time. He has it sort of under control, he can still walk and talk, and write some, but he says the computer just doesn't work anymore for him. One thing we talked about is that "mobility aid" he and I invented a couple years ago. I made several prototypes, some of which are still sitting around here, he has one at his Wisconsin home also. It's basically a 3 wheeled rollign cane, with steering and a brake. Doesn't sound very helpful to us normal folk, but he says it's a great help getting across a room, especially when his medication wears off. Parkinson's affects the connection between mind and muscle, so he has to work pretty hard to get the body moving, and one trick is to have something to hold onto.

He also knows a lady who works at the microelectronics lab at the university, and I got to take a tour of their lab. Intersting stuff! I'll try to take oldest son up there soon, he might decide that that looks like fun--after all, it involves chemistry, moving parts, and neatness, which are things he seems to be interested in.

I hardly recognize the Uof A campus, there are a whole bunch of new buildings since I was there 25 years ago as a student.

more work on the bitchin' camaro today, nothing happened to it yesterday.

I got a check from fedex for that old equipment I sold to the corporation in Minnesota. I like to think I worked for my $500, maybe I did, even though the thing I sold was a freebie for me.

I keep thinking radiogurl needs to buy my Ford, but being selfish I think I couldn't live without it. Even though we've only had it a year and a half. it is a nice car, roomy, gets remarkable mileage for how big it is, and it might even be affordable.

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com