may 2 - 9am

here is is morning again.

Yesterday little Steve and I spent some time moving things about in the shop, and cleaning up. Little Kevin and Gary had gone to friends' houses to play. Since little Gary's engine was sitting in the middle of the shop, I figured it would be a good time to paint it, so I did...too bad he wasn't here! oh well.

Also I moved my Suburban to the work side of the shop, and stared at it a while, then started to work on the firewall, filling holes. I need to get that thing done, it's been taking up two spaces in the shop for years. The body is on the original (bent) frame still, and the new chassis is sittin there with it's Camaro clip and big block and 9" Ford rearend, almost ready to go.

If I get the firewall done and painted, then I can put the body on the new chassis and have less clutter. Also I might actually get around to finishing it. I need to do the bodywork on the interior, which is mostly exposed painted metal, and then do all the doors and fenders and stuff. It's a big project, more work than I realized when I started it years ago, and I overestimated my ambition. Oh well.

at least finishing that Camaro with Steve got me fired up to work on cars some more. And he's been interested in seeing what's going on in the shop, which is a nice change.

he's been around old cars since he was born, this was taken in 1989 when I was building the 39.

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com