may 3 - 10am

good morning. Time for a rare gwtw philosopical ramble.

I was pondering the concept of imagination versus fantasy. I think I have imagination, but I don't have much ability to fantasize. As an example, I can look at an old junk car, and imagine what it could be like fixed up a certain way, then I can actually do the work to make it look like that. Same with building other things, such as machines or circuits or buildings.

But I can't seem to come up with really interesting, novel designs. Mostly what I imagine is not too different from what others have done, or what I've done in the past.

I also don't have much interest in really off-the-wall fantasy stories, or movies. If it's too far removed from real life, I just don't get it.

Maybe this is all related to why I don't believe in god or other "spiritual" stuff.

Back to our regularly scheduled program.


Yesterday I stopped by A's shop, and gave him back his Twilight Sentinel unit that he's trying to get working in his Chevelle. I changed the capacitors on it, and measured the resistance of the photocell to see that it does work, but that's about all I can think to do to it. I drove the bitchin Camaro there, and as I was about to leave, he was looking in the passenger side of the car, at the torn up seat covers, and said something about there being upholstery under there. Sure enough, it had the original basket weave pattern vinyl seats under the funky puffy covers! so I went over to C's shop and borrowed some tools and pulled the passenger side cover off. The seat looks almost perfect.

Later when Steve got home, we pulled the covers off the rest of the seats, and they mostly look pretty good. The drives seat has some good size holes in it, but it's still better than the covers were.

And Steve was out in the garage last night helping me work on the Suburban, it's neat how he's suddenly developed an interest in working on cars. I like it! We got almost all the holes in the firewall filled, and this morning I ground down the welds, hopefully I'll start getting some bondo on it later today.

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com