may 4 - 10am

I'm going senile, and I'm not even gonna be 44 years old until tomorrow.

I stopped by a store Monday and ordered a new radiator for the bitchin Camaro. The guy said it would be in the next day. So, the next day (yesterday) I was thinking all morning about the errands I needed to run, and things I had to get, and then about 2 or so I left to go get my stuff. Never once the whole day did it cross my mind to bring the checkbook and pick up the radiator.

but I did remember this morning...finally.

I guess we're going to look at a 39 Studebaker Champion on Saturday, about an hour and a half away, D the UPS driver friend I've known for years found it and word got around to C about it, and so off we go to see if it's worth spending a grand on. C wants to build a gasser style car out of it, and if he doesn't want it then D will probably buy it with hopes of selling it for a few bucks profit. We'll see how it goes, D has a reputation for overlooking little things like hidden rust, which kills the value of old cars...probably because he's never actually done bodywork....and C has done loads of it, and I've done just enough to know what to look for.

there's an event discussed in a magazine issue that just came out called "drag week", which sounds like a blast, but it's a long drive, and it happens in September, which is kind of short notice for planning a trip that would cost a few thousand bucks and happens during school. I'd like to go, even though I have just about zero chance of winning with my slow turd 55.

I managed to stay in bed past 9 this morning, first time in a while...felt good.

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com