5/13 - 1238pm

I'm bored again...although I have plenty to do.

it's friday the 13th for you superstitious folks. The little boys get to go to a dance at school tonite, the last one for 8th grade. They don't actually dance with girls, of course, that would be too scary.

I found a neat old computer at the thrift store a couple days ago. cost $5. I might put it on ebay with a reserve just to see what it might go for. It had no cards in it, just an S-100 mainframe and power supply and a pair of 8" floppy disk drives. That's right, eight inch. Biguns! Looking at the date codes on the chips reveals that it was made around 1981, so it's the last hurrah for the doomed CP/M operating system, before IBM/Microsquish took over. some of the old 8080 and Z80 stuff is worth money, and there don't seem to be many of these things around any more. There is usually an Altair or Imsai on ebay, but not the off-brands. And I did find an ad for the computer in an early 80s Byte magazine, it cost $1350 with the power supply and a couple cards, and no drives (a pair of 8" drives cost another grand)

I washed my old truck yesterday, mainly because I drove thru a small swarm of bees. And also because I haven't washed it for a long time. I need to buff it out, although the paint is about 25 years old and it won't look too good no matter what I do, but at least it wouldn't be so chalky.

Wife got back from her trip yesterday afternoon. She said she went to dinner with her boss while she was there, so I got to tease her in a jealous way...but not seriously.

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com