june 14 - 9pm

i was lazy today, on purpose.

we cleaned up the work area (the new garage under construction), and bought the last 21 sheets of gypsum wallboard to put on the walls. but that's about it for working.

The neighbor kid came over and borrowed half a dozen older (200-400 mhz) computers to build his computer farm. I don't know if he'll get it working, but he did help clean up our living room!

more info on the old truck, for hotrodgal--my dad bought this truck from a lady we'd known for several years. She needed rent money, so he paid her $250 for it, and it burned a quart of oil driving the 10 miles home. That was in 1977...I was 15...I overhauled the 235, and we drove it for a couple years like that, meanwhile I found a 396 at a junkyard and bought it for $65, about the time my twin brother got a job at the computer store in Tucson. So brother had enough money that we could rebuild the 396, and I put it in a couple months before we graduated high school. I drove it for years that way, we drag raced it when I was in college, eventually getting it to run low 14s. I did the bodywork and a friend painted the cab in 1981, it had a couple different beds on it over the next ten years till I finally found a good long fleetside bed and got that painted by another friend.

I built a blown 454 for the truck in 1990, and drove it with that engine for about 6 years, when I put the blower motor in the 55 chevy, and the 396 back in the pickup.

The suspension, brakes, and steering on the truck are still stock mostly, although I did add a tilt column and a Dana 60 rearend (from a mid 60s GMC pickup).

toodle-oo....

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com