june 17 - 930pm

june 17, it's 18 years since we bought our first house...I remember that day.

not much going on at this house today, other than some mud slinging in the new garage

oh yeah, the older fellow who sold us the "cop car" came over with his son, who needed some welding done on the bumper from his camping trailer--I guess it almost fell off on the drive down from Maine, he had a bicycle strapped to it and that was enough to tear up the flimsy brackets. So he had made some new brackets, just needed them buzzed on solidly. About that time little Steving was working on his car with me, seeing if we could fix the problem with the "temp" light coming on. I don't think it's actually overheating, because it doesn't boil over, but sometimes the light comes on after parking on a hot day and starting it up. So I got a new sender switch, and we put it in.

After we got tired of the drywall fun, I went into town with little Steving in his bitchin camaro, to mail a widget that someone found on my web page and offered me $20 for, and paypaled the money to me. When we got to the post office the temp light was on. hmmm...it went off and stayed off the rest of the day.

But I did buy a coolant recovery tank, thinking that maybe the coolant level is low enought that it's just uncovering the temp sender and the head there (right at the exhaust port) is hot enough to turn on the switch, but not hot enough to boil the coolant. on those old cars, they didn't come with coolant bottles, so the radiator would be filled a ways below the top, to allow for expansion. we'll see if that fixes it.

I was feeling restless, wife was watching really bad tv (mcgyver dvds) so I took off into town in the 55. Nothing going on at all, though. so I came back home. oh yeah...that road they were working on is finally done! it's paved all the way and striped. now maybe they'll get around to doing the other road nearby, it's a real mess also, makes CD player skip in places!

this morning while we were working in the garage the doggy started barking, and I saw 3 people walking just outside our property. sure looked like they might have been illegals, I've seen some trash that could only be from them, such as spanish language food cans, in that vacant lot.

oh yeah, also since we were doing mindless work, I had to get music out there, so I hauled the $10 laptop outside, found some 110v powered speakers in the basement, and fired it up. Pretenders, led zepellin, stones, joy division, tori amos, the ramones, old pink floyd, all kinds of good manual labor muzak....

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com