june 23 - 11pm

time marches on, the year is almost half over already.

here I am working for free

spraying drywall texture. It's too light, but hey, it's only a garage.

Got a call today that home despot had something waiting for us, so we went into town with the trailer and came home with it full of new garage doors. Just in time, actually about a day early--as soon as we paint the inside, the doors can go on.

I even hooked up an outlet, so we have juice! just like downtown.

last week, C gave me some computer parts that someone had replaced for him when his computer died, a really cheap motherboard (so cheap even the manual doesn't say who made it! just says "this company" in the warranty section) with an ahtlon 1800, and a soundblaster pci sound card.

I had taken it over to the neighbor's house and me and the kid there tested it with an old heatsink and a video card and some dram that he had laying around, and it booted up into the bios. So, I figured I could do some upgrades on the kids computers cheap and ordered a new heatsink/fan, some more memory, and a power supply. got it in the fedex today, put it together, and it won't boot, doesn't do anything, although the power switch works and the cpu fan turns on. bummer. I did try a different cpu in it, same result, so the motherboard is probably bad. maybe I can spend some more $$$ and have a really expensive "free" computer out of the deal.

the little kiddos have a week off from summer school, so someone mentioned that we have to go to California tomorrow to visit Magic Mountain. Ummmmm...I don't think it works that way.....

I never put wife's ipod software on my new computer, and I really don't want to, because the video stuff is working as it should, and ipod software runs on quicktime, which has a nasty habit of screwing up the existing video software.

maybe I'll get it working on my old computer (I put the bigger hd from the old one into the new one, reinstalling windoze) and keep her happy. but that means cleaning a lot of crap out of this office so we can even get to the other computer, it's a freakin mess in here! computers and scopes and monitors and photos and crap and crap and crap all over the place.

maybe I'll get the construction done soon and get back to normal life.

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com