august 22 - 1042pm

I had a fun day, I got intimate with my "new" bulldozer. Kind of like proctology...sticking my hands in the grimy mess of it's hind innards, and pulling things out.



The left steering clutch had rusted stuck several years ago, as the previous owner had told me when I was visiting him at the time. So when I bought it, I knew I'd have to fix that steering clutch. It really wasn't too bad to take it apart, which I think was the hard part. Now I have to sandblast the rust off the clutch plates and put it back together. I didn't find anything in there that needs to be replaced, except where someone who worked on it years ago failed to put the safety wire on some bolts, and half of them were broken in half and all of them were loose.

At least I got to wash my hands a lot today, probably more than a dozen times...heavy equipment gets really dirty.

I get to take kiddos to the dentist tomorrow for their cleaning. fun.

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com