9/1 - 620pm

It's raining.

I've been mostly doing nothing this week. I did drive the bulldozer around in the arena a bit to knock down the very tall weeds, I think it helped a little. I stopped after not too long because I thought the fuel was low in the thing, and because I got a good sneeze attack going. I was wearing a mask. When I parked the dozer I noticed that the blade was covered in yellow-green powder, as was the radiator and the front of the engine. No wonder I was sneezin!

Today I worked on giving it an angled blade, so I can pretend it's a road grader, and try to get the driveway fixed up. As a bulldozer, if the blade is not pushed down so it's digging an inch or two below grade, it makes a big pile of dirt in front of it, then drives over the pile and keeps going up and down leaving a nice wave effect. We'll see what happens, hopefully with the blade angled, it will push dirt off to the side, and stay level.

I suppose like most people who are not in the gulf coast area, I'm kind of dazed about the hurricane, wishing there were something I could do to help. Wife gave money to Red Cross at work, but that's not the same thing as actually getting out there and giving someone a hand. Some of the guys from her office went to see if they could help the folks in a related office in Slidell. Apparently they're all safe and accounted for except for one person. But they may just have to close the office, so the people there (I think she said there are 14 of them) will not only be homeless, but also out of work. what a drag. and that's just a very small part of the overall picture. what a shame.

I've been doing what I can to help with the gas situation, by not driving anywhere....let the folks who need to use it have it.

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com