sep 14 - 1037pm

hey, it's late, kind of.

Not much going on today. Oh, wait, maybe there is. I got a call from a friend today, the guy we got the "cop car" from, and he said he was thinking about what to do with his Ranger pickup, and decided that the best thing to do was to give it to little Steving to fix up. Hmmmmm....so I told little Steving about it when he got home from school, and he sounded interested. so we went into town and did some errands (bulldozer related mostly) and then looked at the truck, talked to friend for a while, and drove it home.

I tried to talk him into letting us give him some money for it, but he wouldn't.

So we'll see what happens with it. It's not in bad shape, has just over 100k miles, paint is faded bad on the top since it's metallic paint in AZ. The shocks are shot, the engine leaks oil on the exhaust making it stink, the a/c is missing it's juice (although he threw in a mostly full case of R-12 cans) because the o-rings leak because it's a bad design. The trim pieces in the interior around the windshield and a few others were removed, but he still had them.

But besides that, I spent some time communing with my bulldozer today. I pulled the radiator apart (it unbolts!) and fixed some of the leaks, hopefully, I'll know when I put it back together again. And I played with the water pump, which can be overhauled pretty easily. It was missing the piece that makes it actually TURN, so it wasn't doing pumping for who knows how long. Looks like I can fix it without too much trouble, then it might even keep cool. Assuming I can make the radiator hold water.

The pledge case in California went thru the first go-round today, the judge said that the precedent set in 2002 in the appeals court applies. We'll see what happens next...if it's appealed again, and stands, then again and stands, then the schools in western states will have to quit the practice. Goody gumdrops...should be right about the time our kiddos are out of school.

I wonder why it is that so many people are so adamant that everyone else has to play along with their religion? I just don't understand...but then I have to work hard to try to understand how anyone can believe the god stories in the first place. Looks to me like it has something to do with our evolved ability to fool ourselves, in the interest of convincing others that we're not fooling them.

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com