10/30 - 10-pm-or-so

I'm so dang lazy...but I'm making progress on my bodice ripper. 2/3 of the way through it, or so.

Wife went to the big city this morning to deliver wood to her folks. She took the boys yesterday morning to a co-worker's new house lot to help clear off trees, and got paid (I guess?) by filling up the bed of her truck with cut and split mesquite. Which actually is good payment if you have to buy firewood...but the firewood we have to buy comes in bags as pellets, so her benevolent effort helped others. Although she did get a sore back out of it, too.

I did take the free truck to the big city yesterday, it worked mostly flawlessly (aside from the lumpy tires at over 70 mph and the rumble on hills at 65 mph) until I was on the way home, got off the freeway, stopped for the stop light, and tried to accelerate...and it fell on it's face, as we say. I nursed it home ok, and little Steving and I did some exploratory surgery, and found a clogged fuel filter. We also pulled out the driveshaft and replaced the ujoints which were mostly worn and almost out of grease, although it still seems to rumble under certain conditions. Oh well.

Little steving is getting anxious for his new unicycle, it should arrive any day now hopefully.

The little music widget thing I got seems to work pretty well, as long as the cigarette lighter socket inthe vehicle is in good shape--which is not the case in the two cars I've used it in. When bumped so that it loses power momentarily, it starts back at the beginning of the music list.

Such a technical diary entry, as usual. Not much gossip, like diaries are supposed to have. How will I ever attract thousands of dedicated readers if I don't tell good gossip?

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com