11/16 - 11:16pm

I took the little free truck for a drive into town today, it ran fine. I stopped at the parts store and ordered a new fuel pump for it, should be here tomorrow morning, it was only $150, on Saturday he quoted me $236. hmmm. Hope it's the right one. This truck has two pumps in it, one in the tank, another on the frame to boost the pressure for the fuel injection.

so then when I got home I took the tank out, had Steving help as soon as he got home. The pump was probably working ok, but the little rubber hose that connects it to the metal line had disintegrated! it was just missing the middle part of it, and the ends were mushy. wierd! I guess it was mostly running ok because if the tank was 1/2 full or more the other pump would suck fuel into the line. Since the gage didn't work it got refilled after about 200 miles of driving to be safe, and it's a 17 gallon tank, so it only got down to half empty. also the reason the gas gage didn't work was the float has a crack in it, so it was full of gas and didn't float any more. The new pump will have a new float on it (hopefully?). I could just put the old pump back in and solder up the float...but knowing how these things work something else on it would go bad....

I also got some more house cleaning done, but not nearly enough. Getting the boys to keep their bathroom clean is a constant struggle so it doesn't get done as well as it should. We did get the shower looking pretty good, although the hard water stains won't come off in a few places. Lotsa minerals in the water here, it tastes good but sure messes up plumbing fixtures.

As they say, cleanliness is next to godliness, so I have an excuse if things are a bit messy!

I'm reading Cat's Cradle again, been a few years. I forgot most of the story. Neat thing about getting old...you can read the same book once a year and it seems new each time!

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com