2006-01-09 - 11:10 p.m.

hey, javascpript is working today. maybe becaus I'm using a different operating system on my computer, and didn't reconfigure the browser.

I'm running Knoppix, which is Linux on a CD. It boots up and runs without using the hard drive...so it's a tad slow. High latency, they call it. even though the computer is kind of fast, at 2.4 gigawhompers.

I also got a "new" computer from a friend yesterday. it's 10 years old, and did not include the hard drive, because they wanted to destroy it. ok...ruin a perfectly good 1 gigabyte drive...its not like you can buy them any more! so I took out the motherboard, and put in the Socket 7 board from the other computer that usually sits next to this one in my office. The case of the new computer has some advantages, like 3 big drive bays, so I could finally set up a desktop (not tower) computer with a removable hard drive, cd drive, and 360k and 1.44m floppy drives. The 20 year old case I had the board in before didn't have enough depth to hold the removable hard drive tray.

So now I can run windows 98, or windows 3.1, or whatever else I want by swapping the hard drive, which involves unlocking the drive with a key, pulling it out, and putting in another. I have 3 trays for it, so I can mount 3 different drives in them to play with.

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com