1-30 - 11am

Now for some web page entertainment....one of my pet peeves is seeing this:

"Note: In order for this site to function properly your browser should have javascript and popups enabled."

What could be wrong with something so innocuous as js and popups? oh yeah, that's how a lot of web advertising is done! so if I have js and popups disabled, I miss out on a lot of very annoying banner ads and annoying windows popping up.

Another pet peeve: going to a web page and that has a big outline of where something should be, and in the middle of it says "get the plug-in". Nothing else on the page. So...you won't let me see your page unless I install some specail software, eh? I'll move on, if you don't mind.

And one more that would be a pet peeve, but it's so ludicrous I just laugh and go surfing somewhere else: the page loads, which takes a while, and it says "done", and there is nothing there at all! probably because I didn't have js enabled or I didn't have some other magical software installed.

I dislike Firefox because I haven't yet found the switch to turn off animated images....whoever invented animated images them should be shot, as they say.

Ok, enough of that!

Gary and I did some tuneuping on his truck, it's running very well now, with the timing set just right and the idle mixture rich enough. I drove it into town a few times over the weekend. And I gave Gary his first driving lesson in it...he still has a ways to go before he's comfortable with the clutch pedal thing.

I went to the "dump" today....I started cleaning out some of the "magical kingdom", the old sheds full of car parts and such crap. I'm getting to where if I haven't used something for a couple years, and it won't fit on any cars we own, and it's not worth selling on ebay, it'll go to the dump. Should be a few truckloads of such items.

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com