11/9 - midnight

Wife is up in the big city, she'll bring back little Steving tomorrow afternoon. The other kiddos have the day off from school, so they'll be home sleeping in late, I hope. they're just now going to bed! but I'm not.

I've been playing with the old laptops, just for fun, trying to get windows 95B back on the $10 laptop (dell inspiron 3000, circa 1998). I don't have any computers or even drives sitting around that I know of with 95B on them, so I'm putting it on the guts of a computer I took out of the case recently, a 400something celery. It's setting up right now. I need to do this so I can make a 95b boot disk, which I should have laying around but can't find right now. and then I have to get the right cd drive .sys file on it, and mscdex, and fix up the autoexec.bat and config.sys files for the laptop so it will load the cd driver so I can copy the files from the cd to the hard drive...for some reason the windows 98 cd will boot the laptop, but it won't load the cd drivers properly.

I'm sure I'll get it, after a long time, and it doesn't pay....

I did some work on wife's yellow car today, I was going to just change the fuel pump which started leaking, then I noticed the timing cover is leaking water, so I pulled that off...and I also need to change the water pump, hoses, belt, and the harmonic damper which has been squeaking for years. it's been since 1992 that I put all that stuff on there, and time takes it's toll.

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com