12/26 - midnight

I lied about the date above, it's really the 27th but I'm still up from the 26th, so there.

Looks like we made it mostly thru another year, just a few days left. We had a pretty good holiday, lotsa visiting with the folks in the big city....went to my mom's house for a solstice party Saturday night, we had a $10 gift exchange where you get to either open a gift from the table, or take one from someone who already has one. And little Steving managed to get the box of candy bars and keep it! I got the mirror (the kind you use when working on a car, to see what you can't see), and wife got the bubblebath/rubber ducky bag. My brothers and nephews were there...it was kind of lively.

Sunday I took the boys up to meet my brother and go see my dad at the assisted living home he's in, it was pretty quiet there, but we had a nice little visit. Wife stayed home to feed the horses and we all stayed at her folk's house. Santa came in the morning, she got there about 7 with the pies and a bundle of goodies for each of the boys (they're way too old for santa, but she likes doing it)...and I ran into her in the hallway as she was carrying in the peach pie, so we only had the two pumpkin pies. We didn't even finish them after dinner anyways, the ham/fixins was too stuffing.

Everyone that was at the Saturday night thing was also over for Christmas day...and wife's folks as usual were quite generous with their hospitality and presents, we all had a good time (although my nephews are not well behaved, so that's kind of stressful for some of the older folks).

Our boys spent the day playing with new toys, of course. I spent some time messing with this computer, reinstalling the os and apps, I went ahead and formatted the C partition after backing up as much as I could think of, and the new installation went just fine, here I am....but I still have to install a few more apps such as office and nero and whatnot. I did all that just because windows seems to get kind of messed up after a year of installing and removing different versions of different software, it seems to need a fresh start every now and then. and this hard drive has been in here exactly a year.

I need to clean up my office and set up my new turntable, and get to work turning LPs into mp3s

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com