17 oct - 10p

tab...not enter.

I was going to install linux on this $10 laptop,it's a 1998 vintage dell 233 machine I got at a yard sale. I put a 6 gig drive in it soon after I got it, with two paritions of 3g each. It's been running win2k for the past month or two.

i recently bought a couple of marked down how-to linux books with different versions of red hat, one is 8, the other 9. I have another book wiht 7.3, it's a much fatter book and I had that version running on my main 1gig computer a while ago, but removed the drive and now that one just has win2k on it. (sheesh, that's a lot of machines running one bootleg copy of windoze!)

So I set this laptop up to boot from the cd, put in the rh9 cd, and it booted into windoze. huh. tried again a few times, no dice. so I tried the rh8 cd, and it started booting, but hung up partway thru. So I tried the older rh7.3 cd, and it hung again at the same place.

I had loaded Suse and then Mandrake on this thing not long after I got it, but they don't have nearly as good of driver support as rh, so I gave up on them (they couldnt' find the sound, etc)

Oh, well.

linux is pretty slow at less than a ghz anyways.

at least windoze 2000 isn't *too* bad booting up on it...as long as I leave out the network card.

I'll probably take this on the trip this weekend to get that truck. should be fun! nevada in the fall. lotsa driving, and I really need to get some brakes on the trailer first.

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com