jan 8 - 1030 pm

another long productive week...not.

Oldest kid and the rest of his math class were invited by the teacher to free pizza today for doing the best of all her classes (or something like that)...and I went with kid, and *no one* else showed up! so we at pizza and played pool with teacher and her hubby. wierd!

I found a few local high school yearbooks in the past few months, I took the latest one (1980) to cruise night, and let some friends look at it for a while. They found several folks they know in it, and thanked me for bringing it in. I know maybe half a dozen people in it. I grew up in a different place, but I've been here 20 years or so. Maybe next time I'll bring the 1976 local yearbook.

A couple weeks ago I was at the parts store and the guy who runs it (he's in the 76 yearbook) said he was having trouble with the printer...which is a laserjet 4m they got a year or two ago for several hundred bucks (used, about 10 years old). He showed me, and it sure was working badly...I suggested he try a different toner cartridge, which he did, and it still acted up about the same. I suggested he might want to get a new printer, being a business and all that....and that he might have gotten taken a bit on the used printer he got, since I have one that's almost identical that I got about the same time for $10 that worked pretty well once I put a new toner cartridge in it.

So when I was in today paying my bill, I noticed they had a new printer...and when I was leaving, one of the other guys said that I was supposed to take the old printer.

so I did...and putting the toner cartridge from my printer into it fixed most of the trouble wiht it, although the fuser rollers seemed to be real dirty also. I ran the HP Clean program a few times (although the manual feed system jams so I had to be clever), and it cleaned up ok. Maybe I'll buy another toner (they cost $50-100 for gennie HP stuff depending where you get it) and have a spare printer. And I bid on another jetdirect card for it too...it has an appletalk card, being an M model (macintosh), and I need a rj45 card to work with the lan I set up here.

wierd...I'm reading (re-reading?) a book by Keillor called Wobegon Boy, which seems vaguely familiar. It's first person, and the main character John is visiting his hometown, and his dad has junk all over the house, the garage and attic and basement are filled with junk, and it sounds just like home! uh oh.

The pellet stove made some interesting sounds last night, then about 4am it sounded like a quiet smoke alarm, squealing. I fiddled with the blower speed knob and it stopped, so I think one of the blower motors is getting a dry bearing. I forgot to look into it today, so maybe we'll get woke up again tonite. and it's a pain to work on, as it's connected to the chimney, and all the guts are hidden behind the fully welded steel cabinet, so it's a stand-on-your-head type operation, the only opening is under the back.

Tax time approaches...I think we'll probably get money back, so I have to get it all done in the next month, at least to see where we stand. I started doing the work accounting for the year, maybe I'll make a few bucks, maybe not...but either way it's peanuts compared to wife's income.

and she gets to go on a trip this week for a few days, then home for the closing on the house refinance. then maybe we'll have oodles of $$$ to build that new garage. and pay for it for the next 15 years.

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com