july 20 - 10pm

I reread the first 3 HP books, starting on the 4th. It's like deja vu all over again.

Me and Steving and Kelvin are heading up to Vegas tomorrow afternoon, to visit T and his dear wife who's getting a "surprise" 40th birthday party. My dear wife and I bought her a Victorias Secret gift card...hmmm...what fun.

We're taking wife's late model truck, and hauling back one or two engines, in the interest of cleaning up other poeples' yards. I'm such a big helper!

We may sneak over to California on our way back, in search of the mythical amusement park with roller coasters, we'll see what happens. Depends on how ambitious we feel. And we have to be back Tuesday morning for steving to register for school, which starts on the 8th (of august!) Yeah, all 3 boys will be in the same school for a year, and I can hardly wait to get rid of them...even though the twins were gone to summer school for 4 mornings a week for 6 weeks.

I signed up over a month ago for wireless broadband service, got one email from the company, and never heard from them again. No charge showed up on the credit card, either. So finally I got to poking around, and it seems they are a different company now or got bought out or something. huh! I guess things change quick in the ISP business. I know when we signed up in 1996 with Primenet, they got bought out a couple times in a few years and then mindspring got their accounts, then Earthlink took over. Just a way of life in a fast moving industry.

I've been cleaning up in the house a little bit, got most of the construction tools out of the kitchen at least. And I've cleaned up the shop (old garage) some too, I can actually walk in with room to spare. And the suburban is coming along slowly, still no paint on the firewall, but the chassis is about done, except for the exhaust.

speaking of which, my friend who has the machine shop I worked for a few years ago went and got a day job! he's been family- and self-employed forever, so it's a change for him. Unfortunately he's lazy, and unfortunately he married a kind of crazy gal who's the mom of his daughters, so he has to deal with a lot of crap and never could put in more than a few hours of serious work a day, which is not how to succeed in business. So now he has to be there from 8 to 5 or whenever, and I think he'll do fine...it's a whole nuther field of work, but technical still.

Not sure what he'll do with the shop, I guess he'll keep it where it is (at a friend/partner's towing company building/lot) as long as he can, then maybe move stuff to his way too small garage at home, or maybe get rid of some more of the equipment.

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com