11/8 - 11pm

I got to do some old chevy playing with today, as a result of having started to clean up the shop. I got one of the engines out of where it's been sitting for a few years, and pulled the heeads off it. This is the 454 that's going in the truck I wrecked. I'll put the heads that were on the 396 that was in the truck on this engine.

I also found some 427 pistons on ebay, hopefully I can buy them. They have too much compression, which is just what I want...with that L88 cam and those closed chamber big port heads and big tube headers it should sound great! and with the long duration of the cam, and the elevation here, I should be able to get away with running it on 92 octane unleaded. Although I heard that now there's 101 octane racing gas available at the new gas station in town! so that would work too. As little as I plan on driving it, no big deal to pay $5 a gallon....if it needs it. The rest of the engine would consist of the 454 block I have that's just been sitting there honed ready to go for a few years, and the steel crank out of the 402, plus the rods that I resized and put new bolts in for that 454. All that's needed to complete it is those pistons...which cost $350 or so for the set new...maybe I can get them for under $300.

I don't mind explaining my position on fun subjects like metaphysics, beliefs, and lack thereof. I figure if I can help others to understand some different perspectives, I've made the world a better place.

Maybe I'll read that Darwin book, I got about half way thru it several years ago. It's interesting to see how he figured out so much that has been confirmed in many different ways over the years, even though he did not have any idea of how the genetic mechanisms actually worked.

My dear wife is nice and donates blood as often as she can, she has a "universal" type...but again today she was low on iron, so couldn't give. She did mention about maybe starting to take vitamins with iron to see if that would help.

Little Gary has been very persistent about learning to rid the unicycle for the past week or so, and has finally gotten the hang of it! he's always been less coordinated than his brothers, but he pulled it off anyways...good for him.

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com