may 2 2006 - 11pm

We made it back from the big city ok.

That was a fun trip. We had 14 kids and 3 grown ups....me, the teacher, and his wife.

The robot thingy was way bigger than the regionals we went to, almost 10 times as many teams, and in a huge stadium, the Georgia Dome. our team did kind of mediocre compared to the "big guns", but that was to be expected, I suppose.

It was fun walking around atlanta....it was about a mile or so from the hotel to the event, and we usually ended up walking. Also we walked to go out to eat, etc.

I got to meet the Woz, we saw him riding a Segway one day when we were walking back to the hotel (not our whole group, just about 7 of us). Since he was wearing a watch that my twin brother made, I had something to talk to him about, and he mentioned that he had met my brother the week before at an event in California (!) Fun stuff.

So life is back to normal, I guess. Little Steving has some AP tests tomorrow, I think he can apply for free tuition at the university if he gets good enough scores. No pressure.

I missed out on the local car show Saturday since I was out of town. First time in something like 18 years. darn. But little Gary took pics of all the cars, so I have that at least.

Hopefully I'll get some sleep one of these days, I missed out on several nights worth on the trip. We took the redeye to Atlanta, and usually stayed up late and got up early, and I have trouble sleeping when I'm travelling anyways.

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com