2/18 - 938pm

Wife got home today...she wanted to fly home yesterday, as her meeting yesterday in Washington lasted only a couple hours in the morning, but there was nothing available. So she went to the Smithsonian to kill time. I got to do that once long ago...it's fun!

We went shopping this evening, without the kids...

I got to play car and computer mechanic today, at the new widow's house (that sound strange...but it feels strange too). His Vette has a brake problem and the Tbird wouldn't start. So we got a battery and some gas for the 'bird, and his son-in-law drove that home, and I drove the vette around and decided it stops well enough for now, and that I'll put some new pads on the front brakes one of these days.

The computer was a challenge...it has some spyware stuff or something on it that makes it try to dial up when first started up, and after messing with the dial up settings and some of the services settings, I got it so that it would let me dial up using the normal connection settings. But it loads web pages real slow, because it's running full time sending and recieving data for some hidden application. %$#&%! internet exploder! microsoft crap. And this is the computer they have that actaully works part of the time...the other one is useless now. I'll offer to bring it home and probably have to reinstall windoze so they can use it again.

So I guess I need to do some more work on the Tbird, the fuel pump is probably flakey, and the starter was acting up (the starter drive is worn out), and I still need to fix the dash lights and the power windows. Then she'll be able to decide if she wants to keep it or sell it--it would be a good one to keep if someone can keep after the little things that always go haywire on old cars. It may not be worth the hassle.

Cause of death has to do with diabetes, from what I was told today. I guess he knew the dangers, and did what he could to take care of himself, and lived like there might be no tomorrow...but in a fun, not dangerous way. He sure loved his family and friends.

We'll see how the get together goes tomorrow, I'll be sure not to wash any cars in hopes of fending off the rainclouds.

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com