july 2 - 11pm

it's late on a saturday night. Here's the guard dog, guarding the new garage. He seems to be a bit disappointed that we have doors on it now, and he can't sleep inside to get out of the sun.

I've been trying to relax the past couple days, we got the last garage door on (although it doesn't work) and parked 5 cars in the new garage. Started putting some of the outside trim on, whacked my thumb with "excalibur" the framing hammer, and went in the house and relaxed some more. That was yesterday...today I hung some of the old kitchen cabinets in the new garage. We completely remodeled the kitchen area of the house a couple years ago, but I couldn't throw out some of the old cabinets, because I have so much crap that I knew I could put them somewhere and they'd be usefull. so after 2 or 3 years of sitting on a porch they're now ready to be useful.

I'ts been hot out! around 100 most days, we got a little bit of gray clouds and some rain sprinkles today, then they went away and got hot again.

Tomorrow wife and I are going to the mountains near Tucson for my mom's 11th anniversary. I think we're supposed to bring the kids, but wife thought it would be fun to take her sporty (two seater) car up the mountain, so I'm going along with that plan. The mountains up there burned up last year, except the area we're going to, where the ski lodge is. It's been several years since I've been up there. We used to picnic in those mountains when I was a kid, we even lived there, camping, for a week or two once when we were "homeless" (sold our house and had not yet started building on the land we bought) when I was 10 yrs old.

then Monday we get to go back to tucson and visit wife's folks, we'll take the kids so they can go swimming.

Oh yeah, happy Fourth of July to you!

Wife took the next week off, she has to use up some of her leave (vacation) by the end of the year or lose it. One of the bennies of working for Uncle for a long time is that she accrues 8 hours of leave every two weeks, and it adds up.

Little Steving washed his bitchin Camaro today, and I washed the 55 too! Now that we can park all these cars inside, I ought to take better care of keeping them clean.

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com