sep 2 - 1045pm

my toes are wiggly now....I don't wear shoes in the house usually (my sneakers have velcro so they come right off). Just now I went from the office to the kitchen (hmmmm....that's wierd, but my office is off of the kitchen! it used to be the dining room) and came about a foot away from stepping on a nice little scorpion, who was sitting in the corner waiting for some bite sized morsel to come along. I took a picture of him before whacking him with one of my wife's shoes. But since the pic shows how dirty the floor is, you don't get to see it! too bad.

now my toesies are wiggly....if one was in the house, maybe there are more. and I've already been stung by a scorpion, although it's been 25 years, I still have a healthy respect for their venom.

I haven't been into town since Tuesday night. The only driving I've done since then was on the bulldozer and the riding mower. I got the bulldozer blade finished today (no pics of it either, darn) and it seems to work better. But it quit running, acted like fuel starvation, so I drove it back to it's new parking space next to the garage and sure enough there was a lot of crap in the fuel line again. I did take the time to clean out the sediment bowl and get the gasket on that to seal better, and I replaced the leaking copper line from the pump to the filter. But it still wouldn't run on diesel, it's getting air to the injectors, and then it ran out of gasoline, so I gave up. I have to buy more gas for it.

in case this sounds wierd, the bulldozer is from the 1940s, and back then most diesels had different starting methods--this one has a lever to drop the compression ratio and open up an air intake that goes to a carburetor, and also has spark plugs in it. So it starts on gasoline, then after a minute or two flip the lever and it starts running on diesel. If the diesel system is working right, that is. On gas, it has only enough power to move slowly in low gear on flat ground, with the blade up.

Wife said she let her boss know that she was available to go out to Slidell if there was anything she could do to help. Apparently the guys that went out there were told by the state police or some such authority that they had to be nuts to go on their mission...but if they insisted, they ought to bring shotguns. So apparently they bought shotguns and went on their way. The guys are in the military...wife is a civilian with the dept of defense.

I hope she stays home.

I guess me and my brothers will drive over to socal to attend the memorial for my aunt who died. I had only met her once or twice that I remember, and it was a long time ago. My dad and his wife are driving down for it, and staying at my sisters house, about an hour away from where the service will be. We'll probably take the cop car...that would be a lot more comfy than the small cars my brothers have.


previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com