9/12 - 10pm

I had a long day of relaxing....I guess that's what it was.

I took the "new" 10 gb hard drive out of the $10 laptop, because the laptop is getting pretty flakey, and I wanted to put the good drive in a better laptop. So I put it in the "new" caddy I just got in the mail for wife's "new" 700 mhz laptop, and popped it in there. I set up win98 on it, seems to work ok, although I had to download drivers for everything--sound, video, lan, etc. After playing with it for awhile, I pulled the hd out and put her 20gb back in. Then I put the 10gb in my "nice" laptop, the 150mhz one that does not have a touch pad or usb nor the ability to boot from cd, but it is very reliable and has lots of new batteries because they only cost a couple bucks apiece (yes, they're lithium ion type) I set up win98 on the 10g drive in the "nice" laptop, it worked fine, I didn't even have to use any of the drivers I'd downloaded just in case. hmmm.

btw, the 10g drive is really about 8gb, and has a 2gb partition for the system, and the rest is full of music MP3s. I put them on a separate partition because I know I'll have to format and reinstall the system every now and then....and what do you know, I had to after having the drive less than a month.

I also have all the hard drives on the desktop computers divvied up into different partitions, the 30 and 40g drives have 3, the 80 on this computer has 4. one for system, one for archive, and one for music. plus video on this one. makes life so organized! sort of.

I found out what my bulldozer started life as....a dozer-shovel. there's one just like it used to be on ebay right now, only costs a dollar! plus a couple thousand to haul it home on a big truck.

Wife is in some type of contract/purchasing class this week. they have to know how all this stuff works, even though none of them actually are allowed to do the contracting work. so she's getting home at 5:30 instead of 3:30. I think she's planning on going in at the usual time to make sure the work gets handled somewhat...at least the big fires will get put out.

The kids got progress reports today from school, but somehow they mysteriously disappeard by the time said kids got home. hmmmmm...

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com