12/28 - 11am

I've been computing. Dear wife gave me a new big hard drive for my computer,so I spent a fair bit of Sunday and Monday making it work. I learned all about SATA/RAID drivers and windows 2000. The trick is to push F6 when setup starts loading and to have the driver for the motherboard handy. And then to load the patch to fix the registry problem after it's up and running. For added excitement, as I was installing apps after all this, the few months old DVD writer in my computer quit working. I spent a long time looking for the reciept, but no dice. I guess I'll buy a replacement online, they only cost about $40 now, even though I paid $100 not too long ago for this one at wally world.

I also put a bigger drive in little Gary's computer, a 30g I had laying about. And I also did some cpu/mobo diagnosing, as wife's father gave me a diagnostic card. I discovered that a 750m duron chip I got is good, but the mobo it was on is fried. I also checked out some chips for the kid next door, and discovered that a 1200 duron chip he had laying around is also good.

The fambly went out to see the oversized gorilla movie. I saw the one that came out 25 yrs ago when it was new, that's enough for me.

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com