2006-01-26 - 11:13 p.m.

we've been playing the bridge design game. what fun.

Little steving is supposed to get a check in the mail for $250 for last year's effort. Hasn't shown up yet though.

I'm 16th in the world...at least I was this afternoon. Probably slipped down a ways since then.

I got my 57 suburban to steer tonight. It has a different front frame section, from a Camaro, so I had to do some work to get the steering wheel connected to the new steering box. I decided the 1970s steering column I was gonna use just didn't look right (C's influence), so I hacked up an old truck column and made it work. I got to use my lathe three times! for this one project. neat. Now I can steer....still can't drive, and the bodywork has a long ways to go, but it's a start.

I got to have lunch with my darling wife again today. She was wearing a nice purple dress....yummy! We went to a Chinese restaurant that used to be pretty good, but it's gone downhill...the food is ok, but the place looks like crap, they started remodeling and never finished, or something.

I stopped by the thrift store, and there was a big table full of old computer store crap that someone donated. Lotsa cheep refilled laser printer toner cartridges, oddball software, parallel printer cables, 5.25" floppy disks, all kinds of wonderful stuff! I bought a toner cartridge for my Laserjet4, it was only $10, and when I put it in it worked! neat. I got the printer there for $10 several years ago, and bought a new HP cartridge then, but it has a spot on the drum that's been driving me batty since then. And I've had to replace the output rollers a couple times. Other than that, it works fine, I put a network card in it ($5 on ebay) and we've been using it for most of our printing needs since 2003 or thereabouts.

At another store I frequent, I got the Microsoft resource kit books (no cds) for win98 and windows 2000 pro. Good stuff...cost a dollar for both.

previous - next notes older entries newest entry profile email read other DiaryLand diaries
hosted by DiaryLand.com